#### BYLAWS OF THE TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE OF THE METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION PLANNING PROCESS

### ARTICLE I MEMBERSHIP

- Sec 1. Purpose: The Technical Coordinating Committee (TCC) provides technical review and analysis of transportation products and plans for the Executive Policy Committee
- Sec. 2. The membership and provisions for the establishment of the Technical Coordinating Committee are provided in the Operations Plan for the Metropolitan Transportation Planning Process adopted by the Executive Policy Committee. The following departments, agencies and representatives, each having one (1) vote, shall serve on the Technical Coordinating Committee:

Rapid City Community Planning Dept, Long Range Planning Division; (division manager); Rapid City Community Planning Dept, Long Range Planning Division; Rapid City Community Planning Department, Current Planning Division; Rapid City Public Works Department, Engineering Division; Rapid City Public Works Department, Traffic Engineer; Rapid City Public Works Department, Street Division; Rapid City Public Works Department, Rapid Transit Manager; Rapid City Regional Airport Administration; Rapid City Police Department, Traffic Division; Rapid City Area School District 54-1: Pennington County Planning Department; Pennington County Drainage Coordinator; Pennington County Highway Department; Pennington County Sheriff's Office: Meade County Director of Planning; Meade County Sheriff's Department; Meade County Highway Department; Meade County Transportation Committee; Meade School District 46-1; City of Box Elder Planning Department; City of Box Elder Public Works Department; City of Box Elder Police Department: City of Summerset Mayor; City of Piedmont Mayor; Douglas School District 51-1; Ellsworth Air Force Base; SDDOT, Division of Planning and Engineering;

SDDOT, Office of Air, Rail and Transit; SDDOT, Division of Operations, Regional Engineer; Air transportation representative; Trucking industry representative; Rail industry representative; and FHWA (non-voting)

- Sec. 3. The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) shall be a member of the Technical Coordinating Committee, but shall be a non-voting member.
- Sec. 4. Each department or agency having a member on the Committee may also provide for an alternate on the Committee; and in the event of the absence of a member at any meeting of the Committee, their alternate shall, by representation, have all the rights of such absent member.

# ARTICLE II MEETINGS

- Sec. 1. The Technical Coordinating Committee shall meet at least six (6) times a year, on a bi-monthly basis, beginning the new calendar year. Regularly scheduled meetings may be rescheduled or canceled by the Chair, or in the Chair's absence by the Vice Chair.
- Sec. 2. Ten (10) members shall constitute a quorum for transacting the official business of the Committee. The quorum shall constitute voting members of the Committee. For purposes of quorum members participating via telephone or teleconferencing shall be deemed present and the appearance via telephone or teleconferencing shall be noted in the minutes.
- Sec. 3. Special meetings of the Technical Coordinating Committee may be called at any time by the Chair or in the Chair's absence by the Vice Chair, or by two (2) or more voting members of the committee.
- Sec. 4. The members of the Technical Coordinating Committee shall be notified by regular mail or electronic mail, at least seven (7) days in advance of the time and place of regular meetings and 24 hours in advance of special meetings.
- Sec. 5. All regular and special meetings of the Technical Coordinating Committee shall be open to the public and the media.
- Sec. 6. Unless otherwise specified, Robert's Rules of Order shall govern the proceedings at meetings of the Technical Coordinating Committee.

## ARTICLE III OFFICERS

Sec. 1. The officers of the Technical Coordinating Committee shall consist of a Chair and Vice Chair. The Vice Chair has the full powers of the Chair in their absence.

### ARTICLE IV ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND APPOINTMENTS

- Sec. 1. The Chair and Vice Chair of the Technical Coordinating Committee shall be elected annually, during the last regularly scheduled meeting of the calendar year, by the Technical Coordinating Committee.
- Sec. 2. The member agency shall appoint a staff member to fill any vacancy created by their agency representative.

#### ARTICLE V AMENDMENTS

Sec. 1. These Bylaws may be amended or new Bylaws adopted at any regular or special meeting of the Technical Coordinating Committee provided notice is given in advance that such business is included on the Committee's agenda. It shall take a majority vote of the Committee membership to amend or adopt these Bylaws

Amendment or adoption of these Bylaws is subject to approval by the Executive Policy Committee.

Recommended for approval this \_\_\_\_\_day of December, 2016.

Chair, Technical Coordinating Committee

Adopted this \_\_\_\_\_day of December, 2016.

Chair, Executive Policy Committee